Review,review,review.

Recently I have been requested to do reviews for new books prior to release, at first I thought it would just be fun but I quickly learnt that it was another string to my bow. As a reviewer you get the chance to learn so much about the styles of writing you prefer and also it gives an insight into how you don’t want to write. Some are too flowery, some are beautifully structured and others are best avoided but all of them are a lesson to an author. In addition to the writing you get to learn a lot about how to put together covers and what people are looking to achieve with just one picture, that is definatly a section of my book that I left in the hands of an expert but for the next book I will endeavour to get more involved. Of course if I come across an awesome book during my reading I will be sure to share it with you.

If you get asked to review a book and you are an author, do it, you will learn so much about your writing. Unfortunatly just reading the well known authors won’t have the same effect, they’ve spent years polishing their writing.

So what is your favourite book and why? Your insights will help every aspiring author out there to try and get it right.

My Favourite

Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier (1938)

imagesrebecca

The most impressive of all gothic mystery books. For me nothing has ever come close and the latest cover is very evocative although over the years there have been numerous covers some good some not so.

Just the first line makes you want to read on.

Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.

— The second Mrs. de Winter, Rebecca

How wonderful would it be to write a novel where the whole world knew the first line like an old friend.

The wonderfully dapper Maximillian De Winter and the spooky housekeeper Mrs Danvers take the young second Mrs De Winter on a rollercoaster of emotions that she is far from equipt to deal with.

If you haven’t read it yet I can only hope you will add it to your reading lists and enjoy.

