Book Promotion for Indie Authors.

I just spotted this on the Forbes page, I was looking into the labyrinth that is book promotion, I read it and it rang true, I seem to be spending so much time trying to promote The Community that the writing of my next novel has all but ground to a halt. So now I’m going to see if she’s right and continue with my next novel (Paperback) and a collection of short stories that I plan to put on Kindle only. I can wait it out for a while and get to see if this is right, then at least I will have a back catalogue to push forward if she’s wrong.

In an insightful blog post, author Kristine Kathryn Rusch succinctly sums up the difference between the author’s experience of traditional and self-publishing. Her post is a fascinating must-read, but what stuck out for me was an aside she made:

As for indie writers, a lot of them don’t realize that they’re in the hurry-up-and-wait business, not the wait-and-hurry-up business. They work really, really, really hard at goosing the first-month sales, and then getting disappointed when those sales either go down or never happen in the first place.

Publicity doesn’t work for books. It really doesn’t. All it does is get your name in front of a reader who might then glance at your book. Or not.

And then a bit later:

[I]ndie writers who promote their book instead of writing the next book are wasting their time. The more books you’ve written, the more books you’ll sell.

That’s how it works. That’s how it’s always worked.

In making this statement, Rusch flies in the face of the accepted wisdom that authors who want to succeed, however they are published, must be willing to do at least some of their own promotion.

Or you can prove her wrong and buy my novel here. The Community

2 thoughts on “Book Promotion for Indie Authors.

Leave a Reply

