L – Languages

image

Languages have always amazed me. It’s just a sound that comes out of your mouth but it’s so much more…
I only speak one language fluently but I can get by in Thai too if I need to, I am also trying to learn a little French but I think after learning Thai I have worn myself out. I’m not great at languages… you can tell, I know.

image

There are around 6,500 – 7,000 languages around the world. Over 2000 of those have less than 1000 speakers, also there are 46 languages that have just one speaker… which I have to say makes me wonder why.
These are vast numbers. There are 2,200 languages spoken in Asia alone which makes Europe seem like small fry with just 260 languages. UNESCO are warning that 2,500 languages are in danger of becoming extinct.
I now feel pretty useless with my 1 & 1/2  languages to my name.
The most used languages are
1. Mandarin
2. English
3. Spanish

So they’re the most useful to use but not in my opinion the most fun, I might just have to try something just for fun maybe Mongolian…..

5 thoughts on “L – Languages

  1. I keep saying I’m going to learn Polish as their is a large Polish community where I live now. I’d love to be able to understand my customers half the time lol
    I tried briefly and got as far as Hello lol. I don’t have a knack for languages.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried to lear Sàmi (which is spoken by the indigenous people in Norway, Sweden, Finland and Russia I think, because I learnt my grand mother was Sámi, but the Sámi she spoke is not taught outside of the University so I had to opt for the most used Sámi language and it was rally hard! Husband said I got the hang of the sounds really well (he speaks Finnish and they have some similar sounds) but all the dots and lines over the a’s and o’s were hard to remember which way they were supposed to go so I sort of gave up. I know English, Norwegian a little Japanese and understand Swedish and Danish because they are really similar 😉 But languages are FUN and sometimes hard.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

