National Teddy Bear Day

I like this one…. I think I will go and collect all of my teddy bears from the attic and sleep amongst them tonight as I wouldn’t want them thinking they’re unloved now would I? So looks like hubbies on the sofa tonight…. 😉

National Teddy Bear Day is observed annually on September 9th.  We have all had a special cuddly teddy as a child.  Some of us still have our teddy bear from our childhood.  Whether or not you still have your childhood teddy, today is the perfect day to celebrate your childhood friend!

In 1902, American President Theodore Roosevelt refused to shoot a bear cub while hunting in Mississippi.  This incident made national news. Clifford Berryman published a cartoon of the event in the Washington Post on November 16th, 1902.  The caricature became an instant classic.

2 thoughts on “National Teddy Bear Day

  1. I wish I had realised I’d have made a picnic by the river on the edge of a copse, a teddy bears picnic. Oh well too late now I’ll have to suffice with my husbands bear, his legs are both left, his fur where it isn’t bald is sharp and rough. Bear sits in the chair next the bed, tonight I will bring him in and give the old gentleman a hug… might stick him in a pillowcase first. 💓

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

