What’s The Point?

I had one of those moments a few days ago, having written a particularly poignant couple of chapters of Book 3 and was left feeling more than a little drained, I thought what’s the point, why do we do this? Not so much about writing, I know why I do that, I love it and I want to share my stories with you all. I meant the bigger thing, life.

I hasten to add I’m not depressed or ill or anything like that, I just think that we all come to that question sometime in our lives, ‘What’s the point?’ I think I have the answer to the biggest question in the world and it’s really simple.

Most of us struggle through life working hard to pay our way, we try to eat healthily and exercise and try to be happy (That’s a whole new ball game!), try to get a good people around us. so why do we do it? Because in the end we are all going to die, so what’s the point?

The point is … whatever we make it.

Sometimes we can’t see the wood for the trees and we feel alone but those are the times we are generally looking for something. That something is what keeps moving us forward, making us want to be better, fitter, healthier. So what happens when we reach our goals and our dreams? Do we sit back and appreciate them? Probably not, we go on to follow more dreams and that’s the point. Once we settle for life it’s over. We need to keep dreaming keep trying to reach new goals.

So whenever we get to the point when we ask ‘What’s the point?’ It’s time to set new goals. That’s the point.

Life’s what you make it.

When you’re feeling down or low that’s the time to re-evaluate your life, set some new goals, make them small ones, achievable ones at first but each small step is a leap forward towards your next goal. It’s okay to feel down because it’s just life telling you to choose a new direction, a new dream.

Your life is not dependant on other people, when you’re alone use that time to do things you wouldn’t normally do, change your thinking, turn your life on it’s head. Remember all of those things you wanted to do but have never had the time to do? That’s what alone time is for. Dance in the rain, watch crappy television programs, be creative. Learn to enjoy your own company, there’s no one out there that understands you better.

So it’s up to you what the point is? You can do anything you want to do… That’s the point.

 

One thought on “What’s The Point?

  1. I think that is a question that many of us ask at different stages in our lives. As I look back it at the times when I did wonder why I was here at all.. it proved to be an opportunity to change direction. I also think my definitions of happiness have changed over the years and as I look forward I do belief I am in the best place of my life. But never one to turn down surprises. I do know we only get one shot at this…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

